thephoneix’s bookbag: “The Iron Witch” by Karen Mahoney (a review)

A day late and a book review short. Okay maybe it’s been longer than a week since my last book review, but would you believe me if I said that I got lost in the bookstore. No? Yeah, I’m not sure how credible that excuse is, but it was worth a try. Well I did get some reading done in bits and pieces, which brings us to my reading list. I was supposed to be doing a review of Evermore by Alyson Noel, but I got distracted by another book and its gorgeous cover. I did mention I’m a sucker when it comes to a pretty cover right? This week finds me with a new author, Karen Mahoney, and her debut book “The Iron Witch.”

the iron witch book cover

The Iron Witch tells the story of Donna Underwood, who has spent her whole life feeling like a freak as she keeps at bay the nightmares of what happened to her at seven years old. At seven years old, her father was killed while protecting her from a vicious fey attack which left her with not only emotional scars, but ones on her hands and arms. Now seventeen years old, she’s found her sense of normal in the shape of her best friend Navin, while trying to balance her magical heritage as member of an order of alchemists. All too soon things start to happen, from meeting the new guy Xan as well as finding that that the fae aren’t done just yet with her.

Now this story definitely started off a bit slow for me, but once I settle in to the mythology that Ms. Mahoney was building it started to pick up speed. I was intrigued by the hints of the alchemists’ society and their war with the “dark outcast of Faerie.” There was a lot of world building, which was a major part of the book slowing down, but the potential of what was hinted at intrigues me to wonder just how great the sequel will be. From the twist on the old tale of the girl (maiden) with silver hands to the twisted wood elves to the actual main characters there was a lot to speculate about and enjoy. My only other problem was the haste that the plot was quickly wrapped up, but the ending definitely hints at there’s a lot more that’s going to happen. I give this one a solid B.

Hope to be back next week with my real review on Evermore by Alyson Noel. Here’s hoping I either A) don’t get lost in the bookstore again, or B) get enchanted by more gorgeous book covers. Let’s keep those fingers crossed alright. Also I’m thinking of doing a give away with some of these books that are currently taking up space on my desk. Thoughts?

About thephoneix

A twenty-something who believes in fairytales, and seeks to fight her own dragons. View all posts by thephoneix

Leave a Reply

