Lisa’s Tuesday Perspective: Borders’ Kobo – bringing ereading to the masses… kind of.

Next month Borders is following in the footsteps of Amazon and Barnes and Noble by releasing its very own e-book reader, the Kobo.  What’s the particular appeal over the Kindle and the Nook?  Well… it’s about a hundred bucks cheaper, for starters.  Now, that’s still $150 bucks, but in an economy where everyone is watching their wallets, that’s a definite appeal.

The Kobo isn’t exactly groundbreaking—but it doesn’t need to be.  The ground has already been broken, and Kobo (or maybe Borders) is simply reaping the benefits.  This has a sleek design, has mobile and desktop apps, and lots of free ebooks, along with wifi and newspapers, etc… all that technical stuff you can read about here.

Now… I could bore you again with my bewailing that I prefer a book to be made out of paper, etc, etc… and coming from a girl who’s never so much as taken a picture with her phone, much less gone on the internet or read a book with it… that’s all very likely to come from me.  But Kobo is far from being the last word in bringing ereaders to the masses…

Does that mean that I think that books in the printed form are coming to an end?  Lord, I hope not.  To me there is little more satisfying than a big old bookcase filled to the brim with titles you like, love, and can’t wait to read.  Does that make me an old-fashioned girl?  Maybe.  But I have to admit, the convenience factor of ereaders is starting to make itself known to me.  I don’t think I would ever pick a new ebook over a new paper copy from an author I really love who I’ve been waiting and waiting to read more from… but I have to admit that I read classics on my laptop all the time… and being able to carry around War and Peace, The Brothers Karamazov and nearly a thousand other titles at the same time… well, that does have its appeal to me.  I’m still on the fence about ereaders in general, but I’m getting there… I’m getting there.

About Lisa Asanuma

Lisa is a professional freelance writer and editor, along with a bookbinder and knitting obsessee. Lisa has a passion for YA literature (inside her passion for literature in general) and is currently working on her first novel. View all posts by Lisa Asanuma

Leave a Reply

