Lisa’s Tuesday Perspective: Confession!

I’ve never read Lord of the Rings.  Yes, I am slightly embarrassed by this.  I’ve never even seen the extended versions of the movies.  I know, I know, shameful.  I happened across a nice set of the books the other week, though, and snapped them up since they were at such a good price, so it might just about be time to change all of that.

Don’t be expecting reviews of these up by next week or something, though.  Even the guy who sold them to me (who happens to be a friend of mine) warned me not to get discouraged by how long some things take.  I don’t expect to zip through these—far from it.  But I do plan on finally reading what is easily one of the most acclaimed fantasy series of all time.  It doesn’t hurt that I saw part of Return of the King on TV the other night… Viggo Mortensen as Aragorn is enough to peak anybody’s interest, yes?  Yes.

About Lisa Asanuma

Lisa is a professional freelance writer and editor, along with a bookbinder and knitting obsessee. Lisa has a passion for YA literature (inside her passion for literature in general) and is currently working on her first novel. View all posts by Lisa Asanuma

2 responses to “Lisa’s Tuesday Perspective: Confession!

  • Holly

    I’m working my way through the series for the first time currently, and taking it slow has been a good idea for me. I read a couple chapters, then switch off to something that requires less concentration. There very good, but so detailed that you can get bogged down easily.

    • Lisa

      Yeah, the only time I ever tried to read it before was in the seventh grade, and I think I gave up by page five. But I’ve got a couple billion pages worth of reading under my belt since then… I figure it’s time to have another go.

Leave a Reply

