Movie Magic Monday: Avatar (the other one)

So a really good friend of mine, who knows about the Sailor Moon obsession of my teen years, has suggested I jump on the Avatar: The Last Airbender wagon. I knew very little about it, except that it’s coming to theatres as a live action film. So I finally looked it up. And man, does it look GOOD (plus it stars, Jackson Rathborne, of Twilight fame, I rather like his hair cut!).

Now, I can’t wait to jump into the story. I love elemental characters, as evidenced by my Zerah series, so I’ve added the original Nickelodeon cartoon to my Netflix queue and I’m starting it tonight! I’ll definitely be back with my review once I’m through with the first season but I like what I’ve seen of the first episode so far! The story is definitely epic, which is fantastic.

I am feeling kind of nostalgic for my Sailor Moon though. Live action movie for that? And no… I’m not referring to the really awful live action show. I mean, a movie to give the amazing storyline justice. 😉

About Isabelle

Isabelle is a multi-published author who dabbles in 1950s romance, speculative science fiction, and more recently fantasy and YA. A twenty something dreamer who loves chocolate, romance novels, and heart wrenching movies, Isabelle is most comfortable on stage behind a microphone belting out her favorite karaoke tunes, or curled up in bed with a book and a cup of cocoa on a rainy night. View all posts by Isabelle

3 responses to “Movie Magic Monday: Avatar (the other one)

  • Lisa

    See, when I heard all the buzz about Avatar, I got really confused, because I kept hearing James Cameron’s Avatar, but I knew M. Night Shyamalan was making this movie, and… yeah, I was just confused back and forth.

    I’m not a fan of this cartoon… though to be fair I’ve never given it a real shot. I kind of shirk away from American anime… or most anime in general. And to be honest, I’m not a fan of Mr. Shyamalan, either. That said, I can’t deny that that is one pretty, pretty trailer… and it does look like they’ve remained pretty faithful to the cartoon, from what I know of it. It should be interesting.

  • thephoneix

    Definitely one of my favs, even though the series ending pissed me off. LOL Let me know what you think of it. And yay Sailor Moon!

  • Heather

    I’m excited about this one. My girlfriends in college were really into anime (I was too, truthfully), and we’d have movie nights with Avatar and all the rest.

    I kinda lost touch with the series when I graduated (I refuse to pay $60/month for sattelite that I only have time to watch a few times a week), but I’m looking forward to seeing the movie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

