Book Geek Wednesday: Brilliant Advertising

So in the e-reader wars, I have no preference as of yet (husband, if you’re reading, I’d like an e-reader for our anniversary), though I’m likely to lean toward the Nook, as a loyal B&N customer and past employee.

That said, I continue to be impressed by Amazon’s advertisements for the Kindle, despite how I feel about Amazon as a whole. They capture in a fun, whimsical way what I love about e-readers, which is the convenience and portability of many kinds of books. As I’ve mentioned before, I tend to read at least 3 books at a time, depending on my mood and such, so being able to flip back and forth thru files is so much easier, especially while reading in bed. Plus, these commercials ave some awesome catchy tunes.

Although from the looks of things, iPad is trying to join this commercial revolution. I’d be excited, except the book portion of the commercial is kind of overshadowed by the other MILLION things the device does. I’m more excited about watching movies on that kind of technology than reading books. It’s like the size of my old high school history textbooks… but you know, thinner.

Which makes you more likely to purchase a product? As a consumer, what are YOU looking for in a dedicated reader?

About Isabelle

Isabelle is a multi-published author who dabbles in 1950s romance, speculative science fiction, and more recently fantasy and YA. A twenty something dreamer who loves chocolate, romance novels, and heart wrenching movies, Isabelle is most comfortable on stage behind a microphone belting out her favorite karaoke tunes, or curled up in bed with a book and a cup of cocoa on a rainy night. View all posts by Isabelle

Leave a Reply

