Movie Magic Monday: Clash of the Titans (2010)

One of our lovely readers, Katie, made some really great movie suggestions on last week’s MMM. I wrote a bunch down for future reference, but the one that particularly stood out was Clash of the Titans. I’ve never seen the 1981 version, though I’ve heard great things about it being a classic fantasy film so I’ll definitely be putting it on the Netflix queue.

A few weeks ago, my little brother pointed out the trailer to the new and upcoming Clash- and that’s what I remembered when Katie mentioned it. I gotta say, I’m way psyched for this film! Fantastic visual effects (as those Greek myth monsters were usually hideous!), lots of mythological references to Geek over (did you see Medusa?) and Liam Neeson + Ralph Fiennes + Alexa Davalos? *fangirl squee* This is going to be epic!

Plus, that song used the trailer is The Bird and the Worm by The Used. “all alone he turns to stone while holding his breath half to death, terrified of what’s inside he crawls like a worm from a bird.” GREAT song.

About Isabelle

Isabelle is a multi-published author who dabbles in 1950s romance, speculative science fiction, and more recently fantasy and YA. A twenty something dreamer who loves chocolate, romance novels, and heart wrenching movies, Isabelle is most comfortable on stage behind a microphone belting out her favorite karaoke tunes, or curled up in bed with a book and a cup of cocoa on a rainy night. View all posts by Isabelle

2 responses to “Movie Magic Monday: Clash of the Titans (2010)

  • Julie

    I CANNOT wait for this movie. I have been a huge fan of the ’81 version since I first saw it. When I heard they were re-doing it I knew it would be monumental, even if it sucked. And it looks AMAZING.

    The ’81 version is (or was) on Netflix instant, definitely check it out! But remember it was a time when stop motion animation and cut-ins (I’m sure there’s a technical term for that…) were revolutionary to the movie industry. Everything was done by hand in this movie. Amazing.

    Anyway, HUZZAH for the new one! 😀

    • Lisa

      I really ought to re-watch the old one. Part of me really, really is watching these trailers wondering where the heck they got this from the old flick… but it looks really cool, so I guess I don’t really care? haha

Leave a Reply

