Lisa’s Tuesday Perspective: New Year’s Ennui.

So, the holidays are over, and I’ve had puh-lenty of time to read a new book for this week… and yet I don’t have one.  Why is this?  Well, it’s partially because… well the holidays are over.  And as holidays do, they wreaked havoc on life as we know it for a few weeks.  Not that this is always a bad thing.  Actually usually for me it’s a pretty good thing—most of it was good this year, too.  Still, the holidays are enough craziness to throw anybody a little bit off their game.  Some years no matter how much you looked forward to the season, you’re a little bit relieved when January starts up and life gets back to normal.  Of course then we have to kickstart the year, and… well, that just hasn’t quite hit for me yet.  Which by the fifth of January is pretty bad, but I just haven’t gotten back in the groove just yet.

Which is not to say I haven’t tried.  Sigh.  I think I’m suffering from PFBS (Post Fantastic Book Syndrome) because I’ve started two books the past few weeks, but I’m not over Lament, which pretty much blew my mind (and I may or may not be rereading it as we speak—which I NEVER do that quickly).

The books I’ve been trying just haven’t been hitting the spot, though.  First there’s Michelle Zink’s Prophecy of the Sisters, which I want to like… I really, do, because the premise is creepy and eerie and  I really wanted to like the book, but it was due back at the library before I could even get a hundred pages into it.  Something about the gothic style Zink is trying to use just doesn’t flow for me.  You can really feel how out-of-her vernacular it is, and it reads false.  I think this is maybe because she pays a little bit more attention to the dialogue her characters are speaking than the way Lia, the main character, thinks things through in her head, and you can feel the disparity.  I do want to finish this at some point, because the concept seems pretty fantastic, and even though I didn’t get into much plot at all, I’m really curious as to what goes on here, so I’ve placed a hold on it to give it another go, but for now… it didn’t strike my fancy.

Nor has Claudia Gray’s Evernight.  I wanted to like this, because I’ve heard over and over that it’s a highly-underrated YA series, but I’m starting to realize something I’ve suspected for a long time now.  Or re-realize it, I should say.  That something is that… I just don’t like vampire books.  They don’t interest me at all.  I can read Twilight, sure, and I watch The Vampire Diaries pretty avidly… but neither one of those things makes me at all interested in reading a book about somebody that wants to drink somebody else’s blood.  This is enough to counteract my usual liking of new-kid-at-ancient-creeptastic-school types of storylines.  I’m not 100% ready to give up on this book yet, but I’m not super-invested in it, either, and I have a feeling the giving-up is coming…

Maybe this really is just the PFBS talking, though.  Maybe I’m being way too hard on these books.  Meanwhile, I have some other very promising books waiting their turn… I think I’m going to bite on Scott Westerfield’s Leviathan, first.  I’ve heard nothing but good things about it, and something outside of this girly girly fantasy might be just what I need…

About Lisa Asanuma

Lisa is a professional freelance writer and editor, along with a bookbinder and knitting obsessee. Lisa has a passion for YA literature (inside her passion for literature in general) and is currently working on her first novel. View all posts by Lisa Asanuma

One response to “Lisa’s Tuesday Perspective: New Year’s Ennui.

Leave a Reply

