Book Geek Wednesday: What Are You Reading?

Though I’m still working my way through Kristin Cashore’s Graceling, (I am greatly distracted and seem to be inching my way through it for some reason- this is in no way a reflection on the book itself, I’m not far enough to decide how I feel about it yet), I already have a book on the shelf waiting to be read.

You’ll notice I suffer from obsessive cover-based shopping. Quite often I will buy a book because I fall in love with its cover. This is a terrible habit to get into. Not all the pretty covers have the depth and magic I’m looking for in a book. Hopefully this one will.From the blurb, I have high hopes.

It’s called Avielle of Rhia.

With her silver skin and silver hair, fifteen-year-old Princess Avielle of Rhia resembles her Dredonian great-great grandmother who practiced evil magic. Everyone in Rhia expects Avielle to turn evil, too. Shunned by those around her, she feels unloved and unable to love others.

In addition, she fears that Rhia will go to war with Dredonia, which suffers under the rule of evil wizard-priests: the Brethren of the Black Cloaks. They have placed impossible demands upon Rhia, but the king and queen have refused to acquiesce. One terrible night, the Brethren attack, killing the royal family and hundreds of others. Only Avielle escapes. She must keep her identity secret to avoid death from the enemy. While hiding among the common people, she learns that she has a magical gift for weaving. But will this gift, rooted in her Dredonian blood, lead Avielle to the same evil that possessed her great-great grandmother? Or will it help her free her people from further attacks?

So tell me: What are you reading?

About Isabelle

Isabelle is a multi-published author who dabbles in 1950s romance, speculative science fiction, and more recently fantasy and YA. A twenty something dreamer who loves chocolate, romance novels, and heart wrenching movies, Isabelle is most comfortable on stage behind a microphone belting out her favorite karaoke tunes, or curled up in bed with a book and a cup of cocoa on a rainy night. View all posts by Isabelle

One response to “Book Geek Wednesday: What Are You Reading?

  • Lisa

    You totally stole this off my Goodreads list! 😛 I just found it in the library and checked it out. Haven’t started it yet, though.

    At the moment I’m reading (most actively) The People of Sparks by Jeanne DuPrau (not loving it, but I’m kind of train-wreck curious) and I just started Silver is for Secrets by Laurie Faria Stolarz, the third in her color/candle series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

