Movie Magic Monday: Now Showing

Every person I’ve spoken to is thrilled about the release of Where the Wild Things Are. And I admit, it looks FANTASTIC. How many of us read this book and loved it? It’s an icon of our childhood. I love that in the age of CGI we can bring it to life.

My only concern is that all the positive hype will make our expectations too high and then find us disappointed. We’ve talked about it before on this blog, as great as it is to have a visual represenation of a book we love, they very rarely capture the same magic. The book is undoubtedly better than the movie, at least 95% of the time.

On the plus side, I’ve heard amazing things about the soundtrack, which I’m going to check out. I am a complete movie soundtrack obsessee. If I love a movie, I buy the soundtrack, period. Which is why my CD case is filled with random movie scores/soundtracks that don’t seem to have anything in common. Except fantastic music. 😉

About Isabelle

Isabelle is a multi-published author who dabbles in 1950s romance, speculative science fiction, and more recently fantasy and YA. A twenty something dreamer who loves chocolate, romance novels, and heart wrenching movies, Isabelle is most comfortable on stage behind a microphone belting out her favorite karaoke tunes, or curled up in bed with a book and a cup of cocoa on a rainy night. View all posts by Isabelle

One response to “Movie Magic Monday: Now Showing

  • Lisa

    I do think this looks amazing—and the funny thing is, I hate the book. The illustrations creep me out and always have. Especially of the kid himself – so to see it with a real live, adorable little kid is nice for me.

Leave a Reply

