Movie Magic Monday: The Princess Bride

“Because iocane comes from Australia, as everyone knows, and Australia is entirely peopled with criminals, and criminals are used to having people not trust them, as you are not trusted by me, so I can clearly not choose the wine in front of you.”

That’s just one of the many classic lines from one of the best movies ever made: The Princess Bride. There are so many things to love about this movie. As the Grandpa in the movie says, it has it all.

Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles…

Not to mention, it’s cast perfectly. Cary Elwes as Westley, the poor farm boy. Andre the Giant as the friendly thug, Fezzik. Billy Crystal as Medicine Max. And a young Fred Savage as the little boy hearing the story. He’s so adorable.

The great thing about this movie is how smart it is. It plays on so many fairytale cliches but does so brilliantly. There were great and unexpected twists and turns (like, our first introduction to the Albino, or the priest performing the marriage ceremony, ha ha).

It’s not your typical chic flick. It’s full of witty one liners, action, and sword fights that can easily make it your guy’s favorite flick as well. I know my husband loves it. We’ve seen it so much we can recite it from memory.

When it comes to recommending it, I’ve often told people it’s one of the best movies I’ve ever seen. And I stick by that. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this movie.

It gets an: A+ (++)

About Isabelle

Isabelle is a multi-published author who dabbles in 1950s romance, speculative science fiction, and more recently fantasy and YA. A twenty something dreamer who loves chocolate, romance novels, and heart wrenching movies, Isabelle is most comfortable on stage behind a microphone belting out her favorite karaoke tunes, or curled up in bed with a book and a cup of cocoa on a rainy night. View all posts by Isabelle

2 responses to “Movie Magic Monday: The Princess Bride

  • Julie

    Ok, I’m behind on my blogs, but OMG! I didn’t know they had a 20th Anniversary edition! MUST. HAVE. And the cover has an ambigram on it!!!! This is my favorite movie of all time, I know most of it by heart. In fact, I think I’ll watch it tonight.

    • Lisa

      That cover is ridiculously gorgeous, isn’t it? I believe it’s got documentaries and interviews, too. And if I remember correctly, possibly Cary Elwes’ video diary of the shooting? Seriously, WANT.

Leave a Reply

