Movie Magic Monday: Penelope

Hello, readers!

And welcome to our first Movie Magic Monday. I’m your host, Isabelle. *throws confetti, plays theme music* Get comfortable, have a seat, and pass the popcorn. πŸ˜‰

My first choice of movie to be featured on MMM (as it will now be affectionately called) is the 2008 romantic comedy, Penelope. It stars Christina Ricci as the title character Penelope, and features Catherine O’Hara, Reese Witherspoon in a small but significant role, and James McAvoy (go ahead, swoon, I’ll wait a second).

Now I’ll be honest, I had little to no expectations for this movie. I watched it only because I’m a big fan of Christina Ricci and okay, I’ll admit, I was still in love with McAvoy from Becoming Jane.

But the trailer bordered on cheesy- with that feel good music blaring and the whole learn to love yourself undercurrent. Don’t get me wrong, I love an inspiring story as much as the next person, but I don’t like being manipulated into feeling something. Some movies are good about that. The right music, the right lighting, the right puppy dog eyes, meant to make the viewer bawl. It all feels staged to me.

See what I mean? The story, about a family curse and finding true love and accepting yourself as you are, well it all felt a little contrived and overdone.

But, as is the case with any truly magical story, within the first five minutes of the movie, I’d forgotten all those hangups and started to really enjoy myself.

What I loved about this movie is that it doesn’t pretend to be anything but what it is: a modern day fairytale. It opens with Penelope’s narration, helping us understand the family curse that resulted in her appereance at birth. It’s all done in a very tongue in cheek fashion, a bit over the top and surreal, just the right tone for a fairytale comedy.

Sheltered by her mother and hidden from the world, Penelope is forced to ‘court’ a series of blue blood suitors through a two way mirror. They’re all signing confidentiality agreements – and they’re all running away the moment Penelope steps out from behind the glass.

Yahoo Movies does a good job describing the rest of the plot:

Lemon, a mischievous and eager tabloid reporter wants a photograph of the mysterious Penelope and hires Max to pose as a prospective suitor to get the shot. The handsome down-on-his luck gambler finds he’s falling for Penelope, but not wanting to disappoint her or to expose his surreptitious ways, he decides to disappear. Fed up by his latest betrayal and determined to live life on her own terms, Penelope breaks free from her family and ventures into the world alone. She finds adventure and Annie, her first friend and becomes the person she was meant to be.

All in all, I was pleasantly surprised by this film. James McAvoy added real depth to what could have been a cardboard character. His gambler turned false suitor was charming, intelligent and irresistable. He has the ability to say so much through his eyes. There were times when I felt my chest constrict just because of the expression on his face.

His attempts to woo Penelope while behind the glass are my favorites. And the scene where she first reveals herself to him… well, it’s amazingly done and truly gutwrenching.

The set was also spectacular. Penelope’s room (pictured above) is every girl’s fantasy. The colors are vibrant and fun. Personally, I loved her purple coat and scarf. πŸ˜€

If you’re a fan of old fashioned fairytales such as Rapunzel or Beauty and the Beast, this movie has the feel of both of those mixed together with a modern spin, twisted in a fun, new way.

My Rating: (a surprising) A

About Isabelle

Isabelle is a multi-published author who dabbles in 1950s romance, speculative science fiction, and more recently fantasy and YA. A twenty something dreamer who loves chocolate, romance novels, and heart wrenching movies, Isabelle is most comfortable on stage behind a microphone belting out her favorite karaoke tunes, or curled up in bed with a book and a cup of cocoa on a rainy night. View all posts by Isabelle

11 responses to “Movie Magic Monday: Penelope

  • Twisted Fairytale » Blog Archive » Title-less

    […] I forget, we have the first official post up at Tales From the Hollow Tree! Check it out. I have a movie review about Penelope. Anyone see it? Come […]

  • thephoneix

    I saw this movie not too long ago actually, and I loved everything from the characters to the music. Besides who can resist James McAvoy and Christina Ricci in the same movie together? πŸ˜‰

    I’m pretty sure my favorite scene was during the courting stage when she tried to figure out what instrument he actually played.

  • Lisa

    I so want to see this movie! I wanted to see it beforehand (I liked the preview! πŸ˜› ) but I definitely want to see it now! I don’t think you can go wrong with Christina Ricci, pretty much ever. πŸ˜‰

  • Julie

    I watched it expecting total cheese but I fell totally in love with it!! I still don’t care for McAvoy, don’t hurl stones at me! Haha, but I thought he played this roll well. πŸ˜€

    • Lisa

      I’m not big on McAvoy, either. I was telling Isabelle that I think my favorite role of his so far is as Mr. Tumnus. πŸ˜‰

    • Isabelle

      He did! He played the role with the charm and heartbreak it needs.

      Hm… I’m starting to wonder if maybe I’m the only one hung up on McAvoy. lol

      • Cristin

        Nope, definitely not. I’ve seen pretty much all of his films (except Becoming Jane, which kills me because I love costume drama, but I CANNOT ABIDE Anne Hathaway), and I saw him in a play here in London in the spring, which was amazing. I think on the whole he picks really interesting roles and infuses them with a lot of depth and nuance. I liked Penelope, the whole idea of a very modern yet simultaneously very traditional fairy tale, but I feel like he and the other actors really elevated the material.

        And the best scene is totally the chess game.

  • Isabelle

    That’s exactly it, Cristin. Depth and nuance are perfect ways to describe it.

    And I completely forgot about the chess game. That was a great scene! You know what? I may have to rewatch it!

  • Title-less « Twisted Fairytale

    […] I forget, we have the first official post up at Tales From the Hollow Tree! Check it out. I have a movie review about Penelope starring Christina Ricci and James McAvoy. Anyone here seen it? Come […]

Leave a Reply

